ASA Announces 2024 Founders and Research Achievement Award Winners at SID Annual Meeting

ASA Announces 2024 Founders and Research Achievement Award Winners at SID Annual Meeting

THE WHAT?  The American Skin Association (ASA) announced the recipients of the 2024 Inaugural Founders Award and the 2024 Research Achievement Awards at the Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) Annual Meeting. These awards honor members of the dermatology community who have made significant contributions to the field.

THE DETAILS For over three decades, ASA has recognized dermatologists and researchers who embody the inspirational characteristics of the late Dr. David Martin Carter and Dr. George Hambrick, ASA’s co-founders. This year, ASA presented the first-ever Founders Award to Dr. Kim Yancey of UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Yancey is celebrated for his four decades of teaching, leadership, and investigative research in dermatology.

Additionally, the 2024 Research Achievement Awards were given to several distinguished physicians for their contributions to dermatology. The recipients include:

  • Psoriasis: Dr. Joseph F. Merola, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Autoimmune & Inflammatory Skin Disorders and Vitiligo: Dr. David Fiorentino, Stanford Medicine
  • Skin Cancer, Melanoma, and Pigment Cell Disorders: Dr. Madeleine Duvic, MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Discovery: Dr. Thomas S. Kupper, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Translational Research: Dr. Laura Korb Ferris, University of Pittsburgh
  • Community Education/Outreach: SPOTS – Sun Protection Outreach Teaching by Students led by Dr. Sofia Chaudhry and Dr. M. Laurin Council

THE WHY? ASA’s awards celebrate exceptional contributions to dermatology, recognizing the vital work of physicians who advance research and education in skin health. These honors highlight the importance of ongoing research and community outreach in combating skin diseases and fostering a deeper understanding of dermatological health. Through these awards, ASA continues to honor the legacy of its founders while inspiring the next generation of dermatologists.