Society of Cosmetic Chemists Announces 2023 Prestigious Award Winners

Society of Cosmetic Chemists Announces 2023 Prestigious Award Winners

October 24, 2023 – New York, NY — The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) is pleased to announce the winners of these prestigious awards being presented during the Society’s 77th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase being held December 11-13, 2023, at the Sheraton NY Times Square, New York, NY.

MAISON G. deNAVARRE MEDAL AWARD: “This year, the Society is presenting its highest honor to Roger L. McMullen, Ph.D., in recognition of his industry expertise and contributions to advancing cosmetic science,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. “We are pleased to recognize all that he has accomplished during his exceptional career.” This award recognizes Dr. McMullen’s activity in supporting the best interests of the cosmetic industry through his various technical contributions, which include: over 30 publications in peer reviewed journals and select textbooks, founding and editing the online magazine The Cosmetic Chemists, presenting at 11 SCC Annual Scientific Meetings, five DWI Hair Conferences, five NYSCC Symposia, and nine TRI Applied Hair Research Conferences. He has also served as an instructor for SCC CEP Course since 2010 and TRI-Princeton’s Hair Science Course for numerous years, while teaching as an adjunct professor at Fairleigh Dickinson University in their cosmetic science program for over 10 years. His service as the editor of the NYSCC’s monthly newsletter for 15 years, technical associate editor of the Journal of Cosmetic Science, former member and Chair of the Committee on Scientific Affairs (COSA), and honorary adjunct fellow at TRI-Princeton rounds out his service record. Dr. McMullen was also recognized as the recipient of the 1999 Young Scientist Award, Hans A. Schaeffer Award in 2002 and 2019, Joseph P. Ciaudelli Award in 2012, 2018, 2021, and 2023, the 2013 Henry Maso Award, and the 2019 Des Goddard Award.

SCC MERIT AWARD: “Liz Streland has been an outstanding advocate for all things SCC-related,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. “There is no one more deserving of this award. A tireless champion of the SCC and its mission, we thank Liz for her unmatched passion and service.” During Ms. Streland’s 25+ years of membership, she has served on the SCC National Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Committee on Chapter Affairs, organized student outreach initiatives, and held numerous positions in office, such as National President in 2021, Treasurer, Area III Director, Area Councilor, and California Chapter Chair-Elect/Chair and TreasurerElect/Treasurer. Liz received her bachelor’s degree of science from Pennsylvania State University and earned a master’s degree in organizational management at the University of Phoenix. Ms. Streland was also recognized as a Marketing Fellow of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists in 2016 and was the recipient of the California Chapter Merit Award in 2012. She continues to be a strong contributor and leader for the Society, both locally and nationally.

FLORENCE WALL WOMEN IN COSMETIC CHEMISTRY AWARD: “We are elated to present the Society’s award honoring a woman’s scientific and leadership contributions in the cosmetics and personal care industry to Dawn Burke-Colvin,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. “Dawn is a well-respected formulation chemist, inspirational leader, and a distinguished contributor to the field of cosmetic science.” Dawn is the inventor of over 50 world-wide patents with an emphasis on skin care formulations and sunscreens and has shared authorship of several technical papers published in both scientific and cosmetic trade journals during her career. She also served as the Southwest Chapter Society of Cosmetic Chemists Secretary (2000/2001), Chair-Elect (2002), and Chair (2003). Her national service includes: Area III Director (2005), National Secretary (2008; 2010), Vice President-Elect (2012), Vice President (2013), and President (2014). She volunteered on various chapter committees as the Chair of Fellow Certification, and Membership Affairs & Chapter Formation, Chair of Constitution and Bylaws, Committee on Chapter Affairs (COCA) Chair, Chair of Nominations & Elections, and Education Advisory Chair. These accomplishments are only scratching the surface of Dawn’s resume since becoming a member of the Society in 1996, and still, she is committed to contributing mentorship and coaching sessions to help others grow and advance the technical skills needed in the cosmetic and personal care industry.

ROBERT A. KRAMER LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD: “Gene Frank has been an outstanding advocate for SCC and an active volunteer well beyond the usual chapter board positions during his more than 50 years of membership”, said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. “It is our pleasure to recognize Gene with this award in recognition of his dedication and service to SCC.” Mr. Frank has been an active member of the Society since 1972 and has dedicated his service to the Midwest Chapter’s education programs for their Teamworks event and Annual Scientific Symposium, including his roles as the programs’ Chair. He’s also responsible for having created the Midwest Chapter’s Scholarship Program, which he ran for over 20 years. Gene continues to be a friendly face at Chapter meetings; some may even say he is an icon in the Midwest Chapter. As for Mr. Frank’s professional accolades, he’s mastered difficult cosmetic and personal care technologies like ethnic hair care (relaxers) and anti-perspirants/deodorants.

See these outstanding individuals accept their awards – register for the SCC 77th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase, December 11-13, 2023, in New York at

About SCC

Founded in 1945 and celebrating the delivery of more than 78 years of cosmetic science education, the SCC is the oldest and largest non-profit membership organization serving the industry. Dedicated to the advancement of cosmetic science, SCC headquarters provides unparalleled education, resources, and networking for more than 5,000 members globally and via 19 chapters across Greater North America. Visit for more information.